Baby’s First Art

By guest blogger MJ:

 

Baby’s First Art

Today, my baby girl reminded me that messes can be fun!

I have been trying to come up with a sensory learning activity for my 8 month old, specifically one that my 6 year old stepdaughter could enjoy with her when she visits. The obvious answer hit me today: Finger Painting!  It seemed like a perfect idea, but since my LO puts everything in her mouth at this stage, I was worried. I decided to try edible, homemade, finger paints. (Bonus: This gave me a use for all the baby food jars I have saved!)

The ingredients are so simple: 4 tbs. water, 2 tbs. corn starch, food coloring

photo-4

 

Mix. The result will be the consistency of watercolors, but it will thicken as it sits.

 photo-2photo-3

As I expected, the first thing my LO did was spill it and try to drink it.

photo-6

I tried pouring it into a raised plate…. That wasn’t successful either.

photophoto-1

Finally, I just let her play in the paints already covering the table, because the important part really is the learning experience. Thankfully, cornstarch and water are easy to clean up, and food coloring washes out of clothing!

photo-5

Ultimately, I think she is still a bit young for finger paints, but it was fun for us both! I can’t wait to try it again in a few months!

–        MJ

(Many thanks to this blogger for the recipe!: http://stayathomeeducator.com/edible-paint-great-for-baby/)

 

This entry was posted in Crafts, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby’s First Art

  1. Love this! So much fun.

Leave a Reply

